Physical Appearance🌧

The power of an attractive physical appearance is very strong and enticing, what we see physically, and what we want to physically look like are two things which are rapidly devouring our society.

Everyone will tell you to be you, that your appearance doesn’t matter and that the right people will love you for you. I guess that’s somewhat very true, and they’re the things we should believe, but then it’s those people who pick apart our appearance and tell us what they don’t like about it, and compare us to something or someone they’d prefer. Not only does this topic contradict the liars and hypocrites but our conscience and mind also tend to ruin these things for us.

Once we’re compared to someone it becomes an addiction; one we practice without understanding the length we take to participate in such things, we compare ourselves to everyone we see, everyone who catches our attention as though it’s a natural reflex. 

Although we might feel confident, and may of convinced ourselves that our appearance doesn’t matter, that doesn’t wipe out the self-doubt component. We sit there and think about everything everyone else is, and everything we aren’t. We decide to count others blessings rather than our own. We forget that we all struggle, no matter how beautiful someone may be to us, they may struggle with body issues, and you may not understand why because you believe you could not stay there and list one thing that you find unnattractive about them, or one thing that you didn’t find completely beautiful. But everyone does, no matter how hard you try to convince yourself how perfect someone is, they will never be able to tell you that themselves with every bit of detail you could include.

I struggle with body issues, everyone does. Some days I let it overtake my mood, and I become extremely ignorant to the people around me or I become too aware of how beautiful everyone around me appears to be, and I am seemingly nothing like them. Today was on of those days.

I know the battles of body-shaming, whether it be by someone you love, someone you don’t even know or yourself will never be completely stopped or forgotten in this world, but we cannot let it become society. We must ease the pain, rather than to try and completely stop it, we must be there to help, to support and we must spread awareness.

I do not need people to tell me I’m perfect, or beautiful, or cute, I just need people to hold back with the judgement and to take me as I am.

Bella x

🌱✨💗🔮

4 thoughts on “Physical Appearance🌧

  1. This post is very interesting and thought-provoking 🙂 We do have to support each other as people and maintain our individuality rather than look up to a false standard.

    Like

  2. This post inspired very large amounts of self-consciousness to turn, and invoked myself to think better about my own stance on appearance. “We decide to count others blessings rather than our own”, I’ve never read anything more accurate so simply put. Thank you for this.

    Like

Leave a comment